• Mark Benny

New to digital marketing? The most common used terms and links to the best tools.

Updated: Mar 23, 2021

Trying to do your own digital marketing can be very daunting to most. I recommend that one of the first steps is to acquaint yourself with the most commonly used digital marketing terms and their meanings. I've also included links to digital marketing tools to help you get started advertising online.

A/B tests: Are tests where two different versions of the same advertisement are tested and measured for effectiveness. In the world of digital marketing, the test is often a web page, social media campaign, email campaign, digital advertisement, or sign-up form. You need to run at least two different ads and keep everything the same except one variable. For example, you could run the same ad, keep the same budgets, and run them simultaneously but change your target demographics. The other thing you could do is keep everything the same but change the copy like this video ad we ran on Facebook.

Bounce Rate: When someone visits your website, you want them to see more than just your homepage and to stay there as long as possible. When someone visits your home page and immediately leaves your website, they're said to have "bounced." The percentage of total site visitors who leave after seeing just one page is known as your bounce rate. Of course, you want your bounce rate to be as low as possible.

Call-to-action: When you post a digital ad on your website or another site, there's a specific action you want people to take. It could be to download content, for example. To motivate people to take that action, you typically give them a good reason for doing so and include a button with language like, "FIND OUT MORE". That button and the words within it are your call-to-action.

Clickthrough rate (CTR): This is the percentage of clicks a campaign receives relative to the number of impressions. A higher CTR often implies that campaigns are resonating more effectively with viewers. The formula for CTR is:

(clicks on a campaign ÷ total campaign impressions) × 100 = CTR

For example, if a given ad campaign has 5 clicks and 500 impressions, the CTR is 1%: (5 ÷ 500) × 100 = 1.

Conversion Rate: Conversion rate is the percentage of customers, or potential customers, that take a specific action. The "specific action" can be anything from opening an email to signing up for a demo to making a purchase.

Content Marketing: Consumers are more sceptical than they used to be, primarily because they've been bombarded with emails, TV ads, direct mail pieces and calls from telemarketers for years. You need to respond to scepticism by building trust before you talk sales. They do this by sending prospective customers content (through emails, website blogs and social media posts) that gives them helpful information. This process is referred to as content marketing. Like this blog for instance.

Cost Per Click (CPC): When you enter words into Google, you'll see sponsored ads at the top and right of the page. The advertisers who placed those ads there only pay if someone clicks on one of their ads. How much they pay—referred to as cost per click—depends on several factors, like how valuable their products are and how competitive those terms are.

Customer segmentation: Also known as market segmentation, categorises and segmenting customers based on different criteria. The objective of customer segmentation is to enable you to group customers based upon their needs, interests, and budget, as well as their potential value to your business. By properly segmenting your customer contact information, you can send more targeted and valuable information that your customers are more likely to find compelling. For example, suppose you owned a gym and ran mediation and yoga classes. In that case, you could segment your members into these two groups.

Demographic: A way to segment your audience or target audience through gender, age, income, social class, and so on. Demographics are usually the first step of creating a buyer persona or establishing your audience.

Engagement: This is the amount of interest a post receives. Engagements can be anything from likes, to comments, to shares. They show how many people are connecting with your brand and how they are actually digesting your content.

Impression: An impression is an instance of a piece of online content being shown. Often, the term is used in the world of paid online ads. For example, the clickthrough rate (CTR) is calculated using clicks and impressions.

Keywords: (search terms) These are the words that people enter into search engines like Google to find whatever it is they're looking for. To increase the odds that consumers will find them on the internet, companies research to discover what those words are as they relate to their business. For example, if you sell furniture in Newcastle, NSW, your top keywords might be things like, "buy new furniture, Newcastle." To help you find the best keywords / search terms, head to Google Trends; this will show what and won't work for your business.

Landing Page: This is the specific web page a visitor gets when they click on your ad or types in a web address. Landing pages should be optimised to ensure a web visitor is likely to convert. They should always reflect what you have advertised immediately, have enough information, and, if possible, should always display pricing. This will help convert customers to sales.

Marketing analytics: And digital marketing go hand in hand. Marketing analytics is a data-driven approach to the measurement of marketing effectiveness. With the data marketers can capture from social media, web forms, and other mediums. Marketing analytics can enable insights that make future campaigns more effective.

Metadata: Tells search engines what your website is about, like title tags, web site page descriptions, images and header tags etc.

Open Rate: The open rate is the number of emails opened compared with the number sent. In other words, if you send a campaign to a list of 100 addresses and 22 emails were opened, you'd have a 22% open rate. This doesn't necessarily mean the email was read but that it was opened. Check the CTR as compared to the open rate to drive accurate insights.

Organic Traffic: As noted above, when people enter keywords into search engines, they'll see sponsored (paid) ads on the right and at the top of the page. The rest of the page results are "organic," meaning that it doesn't cost your business anything when someone clicks on those links. The traffic that goes to your website from clicking on these organic results is organic.

Paid Traffic: This is the traffic that comes to your website due to people clicking on an ad you pay search engines or social media to run for you. This could have been ads with Google Adwords and Facebook Advertising.

Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Advertising: This is the way you pay for an ad when a customer clicks on it. If you run ads on search engines, you need to find the best keywords for your business and enter them into Google AdWords. You can find out what keywords service your business best by going to Google Trends.

Return on investment (ROI): This is the percentage of the return made on a given investment. While there are plenty of marketing-specific metrics you'll come across as you work through the marketing process, it's essential not to overlook the fundamentals, such as ROI.

Search Engine Optimisation (SEO): The process of making your website more search-engine friendly and achieving higher results in search engines is known as search engine optimisation, or SEO.

Here are my top 6 Digital Marketing tools that I recommend using.

1. Google Trends - Keywords - The best place to find out what your customers are searching for. You may think they're look for hot bread and, in fact, could be searching for fresh bread—worth the time to investigate.

2. Mail Chip - Email Marketing - With powerful and free tools like MailChimp, it's also highly cost-effective. Their Forever Free plan is completely free for up to 2,000 list subscribers and up to 12,000 emails a month. It includes:

  • Easy-to-use email design and image upload functions

  • Media storage

  • Email design templates

  • List management with easy segmenting options

  • Sign-up forms

  • Autoresponders

  • Drip campaigns

  • A/B testing

  • Analytics revealing CTRs, clicks, opens and more

  • Subscriber data based on engagement rates

  • Optimal send time calculations

  • Third-party app integrations like Google Analytics and social media

3. Survey Monkey - Free Online Survey Tool - Use SurveyMonkey to drive your business forward by using their free online survey tool to capture the voices and opinions of the people who matter most to you, your customer.

4. Grammarly - Proofreader - An online dashboard that works much like Google Docs, the tool's interface is straightforward and clean. To proof, your writing, open a new document in the dashboard and type or copy and paste your content into it. Grammarly will immediately start checking your spelling and grammar. You can also save documents within the tool if you need to reference them for later use.

5. Diib - Easy SEO - Grow your website With diib. Everything is really clear and easy. You feel much more informed about what is going on with your website now and you feel like you know what to do to keep growing it. Diib tells the user in plain English what is going on with the website.

6. Hootsuite - This is a free digital marketing tool that integrates with most social media platforms, so you can do all of these things in one place. While there are some features you have to pay to upgrade to, Hootsuite's basic service provides the significant capabilities most businesses need, including:

  • Publish posts immediately

  • Schedule posts in advance

  • Monitor your feeds

  • Like, comment and share posts all within the dashboard

  • Basic analytics

  • Integrate with third-party apps like Tailwind for Pinterest

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